If you want to confess – do it online

The headline is really a disguised plug. I’ve recently finished my new novel – the first of a series featuring a charismatic and very different protagonist named Mike Delaney. Confessions play a part in story but only a part. I’m not going to divulge the plot or sub-plots but I can tell you it’s probably the most commercial thing I’ve ever written. I don’t think about commerciality (well maybe a little bit) when writing. The title is ‘Confess Confess’ and I see it as the first of many books featuring Mike Delaney.

I am especially pleased with the antagonist in ‘Confess Confess’. So much so I can’t bear to get rid of him/her in the first book. Rather like the one-armed man in ‘The Fugitive’ I think I’ll keep him/her around for a while longer. My US agent describes the antagonist as ‘making Hannibal Lecter seem like Little Bo-Peep’.

I had an interesting review from a French reader of my last novel ‘Face Lift’ saying it was: ‘Steamy, mind twisting and erotic. I had to put it down sometimes to keep the lid on’.

If you’d like to read an interview I gave to Norm Goldman of the Bookpleasures website you can access it here: http://www.bookpleasures.com/Lore2/idx/0/3058/article/A_Conversation_With_David_Callinan_Novelist_Screenwriter_and_Musician.html

This entry was posted in Books, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment