Everybody who’s anybody in film & trade publishing – hurry, hurry!

For those of you who have never heard of Gerard Jones then it’s time to check him out. Gerard is a 65 year old writer living in the US who started to chronicle the 500,000 rejections he has so far received for his books and suggested screenplays.

In so doing he compiled an online directory and published the names, addresses and correspondence from absolutely everyone he has been in touch with – publishing executives, agents, producers and hangers-on, most of whom he treats with passionate disdain.

He has been threatened with lawsuits and told to ‘Fuck Off’ by some mighty important people but he remains resolutely unbowed (as so he should be). His main site is www.everyonewhosanyone.com and on my most recent visit I noted that he seems to be running out of steam somewhat.

We may have the beginnings of a truly viral fight back by the writing classes – a kind of wikipedia of literary and filmic ambition. Gerard Jones has given us the tools on his website to add our own updates.

Gerard has made enemies in the publishing and film world which he sees inhabited by serendipity driven, money motivated, talentless middle men and women straddling the gates of the kingdom unable to tell good from bad; lousy from indifferent or the truly remarkable when it has the amazing good fortune to land in their laps.

So, take a look at the site and add to it. Collectively it could be transformed into a major literary and film networking site. But keep to the spirt of Gerard Jones’ creation and don’t be frightened of upsetting an agent or two along the way.

This entry was posted in Books, Film/screenwriting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Everybody who’s anybody in film & trade publishing – hurry, hurry!

  1. C.M. Albrecht says:

    On the ond hand, I greatly admire Mr. Jones’ tenacity and the immense work he has put into his site; however, unfortunately he has made so many enemies ih the publishing and film industries, that anyone who ever hopes to make any inroads in those fields must absolutely distance themselves as much as possible from Mr. Jones. I do enjoy checking in periodically to see what’s going on, and I agree that he appears to be losing a little of his former steam.
    But do give him credit for persistance. If you have it in you to write, you certainly need a great deal of persistance, and belief in self.
    I wrote my first novel—are you ready?—in 1957. I don’t think any editor ever read it, and eventually I tossed it. I wrote my second in 1980. No one read that either and I eventually tossed it. But being the mean-spirited persistant devil that I am, I got to thinking about these books (written in spare time as a hobby), and rewrote the first one “The Little Mornings” from memory. And I found a publisher! That so inspired me that I rewrote the 1980 book from memory too, and just found a publisher for that one. In between I had another book printed by a publisher who went bankrupt, but by golly, I sent it around and found a new publisher and it is coming back out soon. I’d rather die trying than give up. And I’d advise anyone to do the same. You’ll never forgive yourself for giving up. As to Mr. Jones, keep on truckin’!

Leave a comment